Man Sells Rotisserie Chicken

Since the onset of fall, which is really winter here in Korea, a man has been selling rotisserie chicken on the corner of the next block from my officetel (an efficiency apartment, the name from office and hotel). He sells a whole chicken for 6,000 won (about 5.25 USD), and two for 10,000 won. About a month ago, I bought one, went home, and attempted to make a chicken sandwich, but it was so good I devoured most of the chicken before I could make the sandwich. But this is not really why I’m writing.

After buying that one chicken, I’ve since said hello to him, in Korean, which is by no means difficult, as well as giving an appropriately slight bow, which I no longer find strange, every time I pass by him and his small truck. It crossed my mind tonight that it would be nice to have a conversation with him, however brief it might end up being.

I imagine it would first be necessary to give a simple introduction of myself. Then I could ask how he got into the business of selling rotisserie chickens on the street. Then I would end up going home with another chicken, which really wouldn’t be such a bad thing.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Man Sells Rotisserie Chicken

  1. J Haden says:

    Hi Eric,

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog while researching the Korean conflict for an interview lesson for my first teaching post here in the UK.

    I was wondering if you minded me adapting some of your blog entries in order to help teach about life in South Korea?

    Many thanks,
    Jason
    UK

  2. ginsprich says:

    Hi, Jason. I think this is a really interesting idea. I would be OK with it. I’m an ESL teacher myself. How do you plan to use the stories in your classroom? It would also be nice if you wouldn’t mind emailing me some of the adaptations just so I could have an idea of what you’re doing. Anyway, yes! Go for it.

  3. J Haden says:

    Hi Eric, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Thank you for allowing me to use part of your blog in my lesson. I was asking students to learn about the differences and similarities between North and South Korea through storytelling.

    I’d used a story about a South Korean POW to highlight the history and society of North Korea, then adapted your blog to learn about the development of South Korea. I used the ‘about me’ section of the blog, which showed international collaboration, and the coffee shop entry to show the emergence of ‘western’ culture.

    I did add in my own paragraphs discussing a lesson on Korean history as a means of getting across some details about the Korean war and the devastation wrought by both sides. I’ll email you over the slides I used…

    The activity didn’t entirely work as planned, but it was an unfamiliar class and a short time-frame (25 minutes) in which to fit it all in.

    However, the students loved the idea and they enjoyed reading the stories, and ultimately I got the job so a thousand thank yous!

    Jason

Leave a Reply

